being memorable

07.10.2007

I’ve been working on a presentation that I will be giving to a group of ten business people. The board members are the decision makers for my last round of funding that will be used to launch my company next month.

Here are some things I’ve learned during the process of preparing my pitch:

  • Start with a story- Everyone loves a personal story that applies
  • Make them laugh- People love to laugh, it loosens them up and makes them feel more comfortable.
  • Make the PowerPoint different and memorable– Images not bullets
  • Don’t forget to smile- Shows you’re open and friendly
  • Know your material cold- It’s easier for you and them
  • Show passion and enthusiasm- People are buying YOU as a person
  • Ask- You came for a purpose so don’t forget to ask; “I’d like $xx,xxx for the startup of my company.”

These things don’t just apply to a financial funding pitch. Some of these points should be used in every interaction with new and existing clients. It doesn’t matter if you’re in retail, fast food, toilet bowl sales or behind the counter at your local Kwik-E-Mart. Use them and you will succeed.

So tell me this:
Have you been to a Kwik-E-Mart?

Leave a Reply

