your team

07.16.2007

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned in business is the importance of teamwork. Teamwork is essential in all business. Some people call it collaboration. In the creative industry it’s essential. It’s a must. You won’t make it without it. You have to have it. You have to be it. You have to use it.

Teamwork has been invaluable for me, here’s why:

  • I am able to start a company in at least half the time as a normal person (portfolio release next month!)
  • I’ve been able to meet people I would have never met otherwise.
  • I’ve made friends.
  • I’ve opened new doors.
  • I’ve helped people. (very very important, story below)
  • I’ve learned great things from my new friends.
  • I’ve made mistakes and learned from them.
  • Teamwork has sparked new creative thoughts and ideas.

Story: Two months ago I was running up a canyon near my home. On the way up I noticed a group of four backpackers taking down their camp and getting ready to leave. On the way down I caught up to them as they were approaching a narrow bridge that crosses a creek. Three of them were on the bridge and the last one hadn’t gotten on yet. I stopped as I couldn’t pass them. I noticed the middle person of the three looked like he was limping and was walking very slowly, he was being held up and supported by the two guys on the outside. I asked the person not yet on the bridge if he was ok or if he was hurt. He responded with, “he has MS.” I was shocked, stunned. I responded with, “and he’s out backpacking!” With a smile he nodded his head.

These guys were about 1.5 miles from the trailhead. The terrain was very rocky and uneven. By my estimate at the rate of speed they were moving I would say it must have taken them at least three hours to get back down the canyon. They wanted to give their friend with MS a chance to get out and enjoy life. They wanted to provide him with that opportunity. By the smile he gave me as I passed I would have to say he was happy they did. By implementing teamwork these three friends were able to provide him with a great experience.

So tell me this:
Whose a part of your team?

2 Responses to “your team”


  1. […] Teamwork    -I can’t emphasize how important this is-  If it wasn’t for the collaboration of my team I wouldn’t be where I am today.  Build your team, keep them happy, treat them fairly and they will make sure you are well taken care of. […]


  2. […] ago. He’s crazy talented and an all around great guy to work with. My experience working and collaborating with him has been nothing short of phenomenal. He developed my logo, stationary, site, direct mail, […]


Leave a Reply

