policies

01.14.2008

I have some company policies; I think every company should have them. Most do, some don’t; it’s pretty evident when they don’t. You should base your policies in what you believe, the things you value; they are your foundation for success.

Two biggies for me:

  • I always return phone calls asap and emails within 24 hours or less. Because I hate when others don’t.
  • Under promise and over deliver– Huge, huge. Clients are busy people, why not help relieve some of their stress and pressures by over delivering… plus it’s good for your name. What’s wrong with being seen as someone who carries through on promises?

    So tell me this:
    What are some policies that are important to you?

    8 Responses to “policies”

    1. Justin Says:

      Probably a no-brainer, but I always say ‘Thank You’ at least twice in every email I send to clients. Even the difficult, head-butting missives get a double-dose of the thanks. I’m never too busy or grumpy to be appreciative.

    2. Tammy Cravit Says:

      I have a standing policy to always take the time to send a written thank-you note to new clients, or to repeat clients who bring me big jobs. It doesn’t cost much, but it makes a huge impression.

      Apart from that, I have a rule that it doesn’t cost any extra to be nice. Pretty simple rule, but with wide-ranging impact when you apply it consistently.


    3. This is going to sound stupid, but I always make a point of saying my name and phone number FIRST when leaving a voice mail. Then I leave the actual message. The person can then take a stab at writing down my contact information and then listen to the message. If they don’t catch it all they can very easily reply the message and pick up my contact info at the beginning. They don’t have to listen to the entire message all over again just to get my stupid name and number.

      I also make a point of responding to each point in an email in a separate paragraph. Lots of times I receive an email with 3 or 4 different questions spread across several sentences. In my response I break them out and individually respond to them.


    4. Work to avoid work that I won’t be passionate about. Some jobs I see just don’t look like they would get me very excited about the photos, so I figure I can do the customer a favor by not taking the job. On the flip side I work hard to pursue the subjects I really enjoy.

    5. Ed McCulloch Says:

      Tammy is on to something with the hand written personal notes.

    6. Levi Says:

      Just stumbled upon your blog and i just wanted to say ‘Thank you’. this is now in my feed and i’ve been devouring your writing for two hours now (finally caught up on everything you have written).

      really enjoy your questions at the end of each article.

      thanks again.

    7. gmatoso Says:

      Be competent. We all strive (rightly) for greatness but don’t underestimate the value of simply being competent. Do the job right from beginning to end. Be honest. Be reliable. Be someone the your client KNOW will do what it take to get the job done no matter what.


    8. As an auto repair shop owner, I make it my policy to genuinely try to finish every project according to the Highest standards possible. Be it a simple car repair, or administrative -If I start it, I want to see that it is completed well. This has two purposes:

      First, it keeps the customers happy.
      Second, I like to sleep well at night. I can do that when I know that my integrity hasn’t been compromised.

      -Dwayne

      P.s. I’ve only recently discovered this blog, and find it very interesting.


    Leave a Reply

