on being proactive

01.15.2008

Be proactive. Take the initiative. Make things happen; recognize your responsibility to make them happen. Why? Because your survival depends on it. Not only that but the world can benefit from what you have to offer.

Proactive people win.

They:

  • Are respected
  • Are the solution and not the problem
  • Are successful
  • Are happy
  • Help others
  • Are rewarded

Some ways to be proactive:

  • Study your industry
  • Help solve their problems
  • Help others solve their problems
  • Push the envelope in your industry
  • Try new things
  • Always be learning

Stephen Covey in his 7 habits book says it better than I ever could:

“Many people wait for something to happen or someone to take care of them. But people who end up with the good jobs are the proactive ones who are solutions to problems, not problems themselves, who seize the initiative to do whatever is necessary, consistent with correct principles, to get the job done.”

So tell me this:
What are you going to do to be proactive today?

5 Responses to “on being proactive”

  1. Atnre Says:

    Study my industry! Thanks for the post.

    Atnre http://aalleyne.wordpress.com/


  2. Good question!

    Here’s what I plan to do in the Proactive Department:

    1. Make a couple of second calls to people who are playing hard to get. (With such people, I’ve found that persistence can pay off.)

    2. Make follow-up calls to a list of people I’ve spoken to before. We agreed that it would be a good idea for me to stay in touch. So I will.

    3. Get my studio’s newsletter out.

    4. If time permits, I’ll get back on the cold-calling trail.

  3. life4music Says:

    Great Blog. Being proactive is actually one of the qualities I decided to work on starting this year and will for the rest of my life.
    Thanks for the tips.
    Cheers


  4. […] January 29, 2008 Found this great quote that goes along nicely with a recent post of mine. […]


  5. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

    I’m Out! 🙂


Leave a Reply

