naysayers

01.17.2008

I’ve mentioned this before but it’s worth thinking and talking about some more. My entry into photography was prolonged because of some negative people in the industry who had an affect on me. I would agree that it was my fault I listened to these idiots (not really idiots just ill informed I guess). It was my nature back then to take stock in what others said to me and even thought of me (ridiculous, I know).

My point is, stay away from negative people. They’re like a plague, they will kill you slowly and sometimes even without your knowledge. Don’t let them affect your goals and dreams.

Sure there are negative things that happen in every industry. So lets acknowledge them, face them, talk about them and find a solution to them. Seems simple I know; it’s so much easier to complain and pass your complaints on to others.

Here’s the kicker: The more you complain the more negative you will become and the more you’ll want to share your negative thoughts with others. Don’t do it. Instead of complaining think about ways you can be a solution.

It is time for us to stand and cheer for the doer, the achiever, the one who recognizes the challenge and does something about it.
Vince Lombardi

So tell me this:
What can you do to be a positive force in your industry?

7 Responses to “naysayers”

  1. tund Says:

    Never be afraid to go with your instincts

    Never be afraid to be different.
    I’m seriously enjoying your blog, its a very positive influence upon my start up.

  2. Randall Says:

    There seem to be a lot of borderline personalities within and surrounding the photography business. A lot of the photographers I know don’t seem to be very well adjusted, or to be very balanced individuals. The business seems to cultivate a culture of fear and paranoia amongst photographers, reps, consultants, retouchers, and other support staff. Fragile egos and a competitive market lead too many people to become negative– even vindictive– to their peers, colleagues and competitors.

    You’re right: resist it, steer clear of it. Don’t fall prey to someone else’s bad energy and outlook. Life is too short, and really, things aren’t even half as bad as some people make them out to be. Some people are indeed ill informed and just don’t have the perspective and emotional tools to deal with the world or how they perceive it.

  3. Ed McCulloch Says:

    Randall- Awesome!

  4. PJ Says:

    This is just what I needed to read. I’ve recently fallen victim to the naysayers and started to become one of them, but am actively working to solve the problem.

    Great post!

  5. Jenny Says:

    Recently I have faced a few naysayers myself & I’ve been discouraged.Thank you so much for this post & your encouragement!


  6. […] read a great, encouraging article on this today….check it out. Also take a look at this […]


  7. Very true, don’t let negative people affect you. Not always can you stay away from them, but at least stay away from what they say.

    I think it’s not a coincidence that the people of that sort are usually not very successful and it probably makes them feel better when they are trying to persuade the others that they will not be successful either.


Leave a Reply

