something to think about

02.13.2008

Why are you a photographer? Why do you want to be a photographer? What is it with photography that makes you not want to do anything else for a career?

I think these are extremely important questions to ask yourself. The people who love it, breathe it, and dream about it; the passionate ones are the ones who have the most success (They also keep things in perspective and stay well balanced).

This doesn’t happen with just photography, it happens in every industry, for example; Google, Jet Blue, Apple, Tiger Woods and the lady who sells tumbleweed (can you eat, breath and dream about tumbleweed?)

I dreamed of being a successful photographer since the first time I picked up a 35mm camera at the age of 16. It’s what I love, what I’m passionate about and what I will be doing for the rest of my life.

What about you?

2 Responses to “something to think about”

  1. Tund Says:

    I realised early on that photography had grabbed me by the neck and pretty much made me fall in love with it.

    I yearn to take pictures, to play with lighting and create prints and canvasses that get people excited. I love making beautiful pictures.

    For me photography isn’t just about the work… it’s also about the people. I get to become a part of their life, to make something that’ll hang on their wall which they’ll be proud of.

    I want to be a photographer, because it’s what I love doing and can see myself doing for the rest of my life.

  2. Brady Says:

    Ed- Something I’ve been reading about in the research literature a lot lately is the relationship between job satisfaction (aka passion) and performance (aka success). If you ever want any info, let me know.


Leave a Reply

